DPP Giving

Support the Department of Public Policy

The Department of Public Policy appreciates your support! Your gifts enable us to more effectively recruit and reward top students and faculty. Donations help us offer scholarships, graduate assistantships, and a variety of enrichment activities for students.

Thank you!

Online giving made easy!
Please visit the UConn Foundation website to provide your information and choose the fund you wish to support.

David B. Walker

David B. Walker Endowment (31403)

The David B. Walker Endowment Fund was established with a generous donation from 1991 MPA alumnus, Parashar Patel. This award is given annually to recognize a student in the program who exemplifies tireless dedication to public service. This award was established to provide recognition and did not have a monetary component. With that said, the DPP has been making small monetary awards in recent years using the Department of Public Policy Fund (22664).

This endowment honors David B. Walker, former director of the U.S. Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations and Director of UConn's MPA program, who passed away in 2013. Dave dedicated his career to mentoring and supporting future leaders to influence government and politics to improve our country. “Dave Walker has had a huge impact on my life. I know he has touched a lot of alumni throughout the decades he served. Dave passed in 2013 and the MPA program celebrated 40 years that year. The timing just seemed right to donate and establish an award in Dave’s name,” commented Parashar. “This endowment, with the continued support of alumni, will ensure the MPA program can carry on Dave’s tradition of recognizing students who demonstrate that relentless dedication he always gave to each of his students.”

Mort Tenzer

Tenzer Fellowship Fund (30292)

This award is given to an incoming student with undergraduate academic excellence and potential to succeed in the program. Priority of selection is given to applications received by February 15th. The fellowship was established in 1993, the year Professor Tenzer retired from the University of Connecticut. It is intended to be used to assist in recruiting high quality in-state and out-of-state students.

Al Ilg

Al G. Ilg Fellowship in Local Government (30707)

The Albert G. Ilg Fellowship in Local Government award is given to a graduating MPA student who demonstrates interest in local government and public sector service. Awards ("Fellowships") will defray living or academic related expenses. The award was established in 1998 to honor the distinguished service of Al Ilg as the Town Manager of Windsor for 32 years.

Prior to his service as Town Manager of Windsor, Connecticut, Al served as the Assistant City Manager of Oak Ridge, Tennessee, after serving as an officer in the U.S. Navy. In 2002, Al’s expertise was called upon to serve as an Interim City Manager of Hartford, and in September 2005, Al was appointed by the Governor to the “State Contracting Reform Standards Board.” Al received a B.A. in Political Science from Bucknell University and a Master’s degree in Government Administration from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. For many years, Al has been a friend of the Department of Public Policy, speaking in our speaker series and connecting students and alumni with job opportunities.  He also supports the Albert Ilg Award, presented annually, to a student with outstanding interest in local government.

UConn Department of Public Policy logo

Department of Public Policy Fund (22664)

For general departmental support including, but not limited to: student enrichment activities, student hardship requests, and student travel.

Online giving made easy!
Please visit the UConn Foundation website to provide your information and choose the fund you wish to support.