Connecticut State Comptroller Natalie Braswell Named SPP’s 2022 Distinguished Alum

The School of Public Policy (SPP) is proud to announce Connecticut State Comptroller Natalie Braswell as the 2022 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient. Comptroller Braswell will also serve as the Keynote Speaker at our 2022 Ceremony to Honor Our Graduates. A Triple Husky, Comptroller Braswell completed her Master of Public Administration (MPA) from the Department of […]

Best Wishes To 2022 SPP Retirees

This academic year the School of Public Policy (SPP) celebrates the IMPACT of three members of our community who are retiring from or who have already retired from the University. It was difficult to encompass all of their achievements, and we welcome you to explore their profiles on our website to learn more. We wish […]

DPP Faculty Set to Edit a Special Edition of the ANNALS Dedicated to Gun Violence Prevention

Department of Public Policy (DPP) Professors Jennifer Dinnen and Kerri Raissian are set to join Professor Cassandra Crifasi (John Hopkins University) to edit a special edition of the ANNALS dedicated to gun violence prevention.  The ANNALS is a guest edited periodical that covers societies and politics. Since 1890, The American Academy of Political and Social […]

New Faces of the DPP

This winter the Department of Public Policy (DPP) welcomed two new members to staff! Luciano Lawrence serves as the DPP’s Outreach Coordinator. Since mid-December Luc has been coordinating recruitment efforts and assisting with marketing initiatives for the department’s professional graduate and undergraduate academic programs. He holds a Bachelor of  Arts in English and a Master […]

Alumni Council President Named to Connecticut Magazine’s 40 Under 40

Congratulations to Department of Public Policy (DPP) Alumni Council President Larisa Kottke, who was recently named to Connecticut Magazine‘s 40 Under 40! The Class of 2022 includes “shootings stars” from across the state, including Larisa who serves as President and CEO of Leadership Greater Hartford (LGH). As a Public Administration graduate, Larisa embodies leadership and aims to […]

MPA Student Gets a Jumpstart into Managing Volunteers

Master of Public Administration (MPA) student Emily Burnett found a love for public service when she began volunteering in high school. Over time her engagement made her realize the systemic barriers that lead to organizations needing volunteers. Her freshman year American government class also inspired her through stories of collective action that led to change. […]

DPP Professor Joins Labor and Public Employees Task Force

During the 2021 legislative session the Connecticut General Assembly created the Labor and Public Employees Committee. According to their website: “The Labor and Public Employees Committee has cognizance of all matters relating to workers’ compensation, unemployment compensation, conditions of employment, hours of labor, minimum wages, industrial safety, occupational health and safety, labor unions and labor […]