2022 Alumni Impact Award Winner: Yahaira Escribano, MPA

2022 Alumni Impact Awards: Recognizes School of Public Policy (SPP) alumni (MPA, MPA Fellows, MPP and MASR) at any stage in their career who have made a significant recent contribution to their field. Nominees may work in any sector; public, private, or nonprofit. Examples may include but are not limited to driving a meaningful program outcome, […]

2022 Albert G. Ilg Fellowship in Local Government Award: Jon M. Trister and Kylee A. Dostie

The Albert G. Ilg Fellowship in Local Government award is given to an MPA student who demonstrates interest in local government and public sector service. Awards (“Fellowships”) will defray living or academic related expenses. The award was established in 1998 to honor the distinguished service of Al Ilg as the Town Manager of Windsor for […]

2022 David B. Walker Award: Cristian G. Corza Godinez and Brittany L. LaMarr

The David B. Walker Award was established with a generous donation from Parashar Patel, MPA ‘91. This award is given annually to recognize a student in the program who exemplifies tireless dedication to public service. Ideally, the awardee would have an interest in Federalism. David B. Walker: This endowment honors David B. Walker, former director […]

2022 MPA Academic Excellence Award: Logan Singerman and Yaw Owusu Darko

The UConn School of Public Policy (SPP) is pleased to announce the recipients of our academic excellence awards. These prestigious awards are given annually to a student or students who are graduating from the Master of Public Administration (MPA), Master of Public Administration – Executive Track (MPA Fellows), Master of Public Policy (MPP), and Master […]

Connecticut State Comptroller Natalie Braswell Named SPP’s 2022 Distinguished Alum

The School of Public Policy (SPP) is proud to announce Connecticut State Comptroller Natalie Braswell as the 2022 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient. Comptroller Braswell will also serve as the Keynote Speaker at our 2022 Ceremony to Honor Our Graduates. A Triple Husky, Comptroller Braswell completed her Master of Public Administration (MPA) from the Department of […]

MPA Student Serves as Municipal Services & Regional Planning Intern at SCRCOG

For the 2021-2022 academic year, School of Public Policy (SPP) Master of Public Administration (MPA) student Michelle Skowronek is serving as a Municipal Services & Regional Planning intern for the South Central Region Council of Governments (SCRCOG).  For her Internship and Professional Practice (IPP) Program placement, Michelle has created a document that examines demographic and […]

DPP Alum Named A HBJ Women In Business Award Honoree

The Hartford Business Journal (HBJ) recently named their 2022 Women in Business Awards honorees. School of Public Policy (SPP) alum Alyssa Goduti was one of this year’s honorees. Alyssa and 24 others were selected due to their stories of career perseverance, dedication, leadership and resourcefulness. Alyssa serves as President & CEO of Ädelbrook Behavioral and […]

MPA Student Runs FOG Education Program at UConn

For the 2021-2022 academic year, Department of Public Policy (DPP) Master of Public Administration (MPA) student Danny Zeidan serves as an Administrative Intern for the Office of Service Learning at UConn. For his Internship and Professional Practice (IPP) Program placement, Danny is in charge of the Office’s Fats, Oils, and Greases (FOG) Education Program. According […]

Alumni Council President Named to Connecticut Magazine’s 40 Under 40

Congratulations to Department of Public Policy (DPP) Alumni Council President Larisa Kottke, who was recently named to Connecticut Magazine‘s 40 Under 40! The Class of 2022 includes “shootings stars” from across the state, including Larisa who serves as President and CEO of Leadership Greater Hartford (LGH). As a Public Administration graduate, Larisa embodies leadership and aims to […]