DPP Alumni Council

Department of Public Policy Alumni Council

The UConn DPP Alumni Council

The goal is to help current and future DPP students see the wide variety of careers that our graduates embark on, and to help DPP alumni connect with their former classmates.

In 2019 the MPA Alumni Council combined with the Survey Research Alumni Council to form the DPP Alumni Council, supporting alumni of all DPP programs.  The MPA Alumni Council was established more than a decade ago to support both the MPA program and its students. Over the years, Alumni Council members have served as mentors and role models for our aspiring administrators. Alums are willing to talk with students, review resumes, and set-up job shadows in order to help students have the same great opportunities as the people who went before them.

UConn DPP graduates have taken jobs both in Connecticut and throughout the country in the public, private and nonprofit sectors. Connecting those alumni with students – and with each other – is at the core of the mission.

MPA Alumni Council

University of Connecticut DPP Alumni Council
Academic Year 2019-2020

Term Expires
June 30, 2020
Term Expires
June 30, 2021
Term Expires
June 30, 2022
Catherine GuarinoNC
MPA 2010
Administrative Program Director
University of Connecticut, DPP
(959) 200-3753
catherine.guarino@uconn.edu
Alyssa Goduti, President
MPA 2002
President and CEO
Ädelbrook
(203) 605-7380
AGoduti@adelbrook.org
Melissa Appleby
MPA 2013
Deputy Town Manager
Town of Simsbury
(860) 307-8227
melissa.ashley.jones@gmail.com
Alissa Johnston
MPA 2007
Performance Measurement Coordinator
Capital Workforce Partners
(860) 899-3472
alissabess@gmail.com
Jeff Hallin
MPA 2005
Assistant Budget Director
City of Hartford
(860) 757-9552
jeffhallin@hotmail.com
Chris Brechlin
MPP 2018
Senior Program & Data Analyst
Connecticut Housing Finance Authority
(203) 631-2840
christopherbrechlin@gmail.com
Larisa Kottke, Vice President, NC
MPA 2013
Director, Finance and Operations
Leadership Greater Hartford
(617) 851-4037
larisavk@gmail.com
Brian Luther
MPA 2017
Program Manager
Dept. of Municipal Services, CRCOG
(401) 241-7239
brianluther14@gmail.com
Candace Fitzpatrick, NC
MPA 2006
Alumni Relations & Development Director
University of Connecticut, DPP
(860) 559-9760
cvwfitz@gmail.com
Jessica Legnos Kearney, AC
MPA 2012
Executive Director
Travelers Institute
860-277-0903 (w) 860-247-8934 (c)
jlkearne@travelers.com
Scott Simoneau
MPA 1994
Chief Analyst
Connecticut General Assembly
(860) 240-0300
Scott.Simoneau@cga.ct.gov
Jayhon Ghassem-Zadeh
MPA 2015
Senior Management & Strategy Consultant
The Lafayette Group, Washington D.C.
(203) 954-5866
jghassemzadeh@gmail.com
Ron Schack
MPA 1993
Director
The Charter Oak Group, LLC
(860) 478-7847
rschack@charteroakgroup.com
Julia Yakovich, AC
MPA 2008
Director of Service Learning Initiative
University of Connecticut
(860) 486-4531
julia.yakovich@uconn.edu
Doug Shipman, Secretary-Treasurer, AC
MPA 2016
Executive Director
Windsor Historical Society
(860) 709-0200
douglas.shipman1@gmail.com
Melissa Sienna
MPA 2017
Research Associate
University of Connecticut Heath Center
(860) 874-2030
melissasienna.38@gmail.com
Ashley Plosky
MSR 2007
2nd Vice President, Sales Analytics & Execution
The Travelers Companies, Inc.
(860) 490-4508
ashley.plosky@gmail.com
Rebecca Myshrall, NC
MPA 2000
Employment Specialist
University of Connecticut
(860) 486-8014
Rebecca.Myshrall@uconn.edu
Jennifer McDermott, Alternate
MPA 2013
Vice President, Senior Underwriter
Public Sector Finance, Webster Bank
(401) 228-2039
jmcdermott@websterbank.com
Lauren Hunt, Alternate
MPA 2018
Development Program Coordinator
Yale School of Public Health
(203) 988-4459
Laurenhunt77@gmail.com
Hanna Nagy, Alternate
MPA 2018
Planning Analyst, Health Systems
Connecticut Office of Health Strategy
h_nagy@comcast.net
NC = Nominating Committee
AC = Awards Committee
DPP Department Head
Mohamad Alkadry
(959) 200-3858
mohamad.alkadry@uconn.edu
DPP Administrative Program Director
Catherine Guarino
(959) 200-3753
catherine.guarino@uconn.edu
Student Representatives
Carol Miranda, GAPPS/ICMA
carol.miranda@uconn.edu
MPA/MPP Program Director
Eric Brunner
(959) 200-3795
eric.brunner@uconn.edu
Graduate Program in Survey Research Program Director
Jennifer Dineen
(959) 200-3799
jennifer.dineen@uconn.edu
DPP Alumni Relations & Development
Candace Fitzpatrick
(959) 200-3920
candace.fitzpatrick@uconn.edu

To access meeting minutes of the Alumni Council, please click here.

Resume reviews

The Alumni Council is happy to provide on-going resume review for UConn DPP students. Please email Rebecca C. Myshrall, a graduate UConn MPA grad and Human Resources Associate, at rebecca.myshrall@uconn.edu for more information. Students should expect a return time of about 2 weeks for all submitted resumes.