Alumni Council

The Department of Public Policy Alumni Council helps current and future students connect with alumni to explore the wide variety of career opportunities available to UConn DPP graduates. Alumni Council members also connect and network with their former classmates.

History

In 2019, the UConn MPA Alumni Council combined with the Survey Research Alumni Council to form the DPP Alumni Council, supporting alumni of all DPP programs. The MPA Alumni Council was established more than a decade ago to support both the MPA program and its students. Over the years, Alumni Council members have served as mentors and role models for our aspiring administrators. Alumni are willing to talk with students, review resumes, and set up job shadows in order to help students have the same great opportunities as the people who went before them.

UConn DPP graduates have taken jobs both in Connecticut and throughout the country in the public, private, and nonprofit sectors. Connecting our alumni with students – and with each other – is at the core of the Council’s mission.

2020-2021 Council Members

NC = Nominating Committee members | AC = Awards Committee members

President: Larisa Kottke '13 MPA
Vice President: Doug Shipman '16 MPA
Secretary: Christopher Brechlin '18 MPP

Term Expires June 30, 2021

Alyssa Goduti '02 MPA
President and CEO
Adelbrook
AGoduti@adelbrook.org

Jeff Hallin '05 MPA
Assistant Budget Director
City of Hartford
jeffhallin@hotmail.com

Brian Luther '17 MPA
Municipal Services Specialist
The Metropolitan Area Planning Council
bluther@mapc.org

Ashley Plosky '07 MA, AC
2VP, Business Insurance (BI) Sales Analytics and Execution
The Travelers Companies, Inc.
ashley.plosky@gmail.com

Scott Simoneau '94 MPA
Chief Analyst
Connecticut General Assembly
Scott.Simoneau@cga.ct.gov

Julia Yakovich '08 MPA, AC
Director of Service Learning Initiative
University of Connecticut
julia.yakovich@uconn.edu

Term Expires June 30, 2022

Melissa Appleby '13 MPA, NC
Deputy Town Manager
Town of Simsbury
melissa.ashley.jones@gmail.com

Christopher Brechlin '18 MPP, Secretary, AC
Senior Program & Data Analyst
Connecticut Housing Finance Authority
christopherbrechlin@gmail.com

Candace Fitzpatrick '06 MPA, NC
Alumni Relations & Development Director
Department of Public Policy, University of Connecticut
cvwfitz@gmail.com

Jayhon Ghassem-Zadeh '15 MPA
Senior Management & Strategy Consultant
The Lafayette Group, Washington D.C.
jghassemzadeh@gmail.com

Hanna Nagy '18 MPA, Alternate
Planning Analyst, Health Systems
Connecticut Office of Health Strategy
h_nagy@comcast.net

Doug Shipman '16 MPA, Vice President, AC
Executive Director
Windsor Historical Society
dshipman@windsorhistoricalsociety.org

Term Expires June 30, 2023

Lauren Hunt '18 MPA
Development Program Coordinator
Yale School of Public Health
laurenhunt77@gmail.com

Alissa Johnston '07 MPA
Performance Measurement Coordinator
Capital Workforce Partners
alissabess@gmail.com

Larisa Kottke '13 MPA, President
Vice President for Finance & Operations
Leadership Greater Hartford
larisavk@gmail.com

Jessica Legnos Kearney '12 MPA, AC
Second Vice President
Travelers Institute
jlkearne@travelers.com

Jennifer McDermott '13 MPA
Vice President, Senior Underwriter, Public Sector Finance
Webster Bank
jmcdermott@websterbank.com

Ron Schack '93 MPA
Director
The Charter Oak Group, LLC
rschack@charteroakgroup.com

Alternates

Tara Downes '20 MPA, Alternate
Assistant State Comptroller
Connecticut office of the State Comptroller
tara.downes@uconn.edu

Janice Castle '11 MPA, Alternate
Director, Office of Community Engagement
City of Hartford
janice.castle80@gmail.com

Maureen Goulet '20 MPA, Alternate
Director of Purchasing
Town of Manchester
mgoulet@manchesterct.gov

Department Representatives

Department Head

Mohamad Alkadry
(959) 200-3858
mohamad.alkadry@uconn.edu

Program Director, MPA/MPP

Eric Brunner
(959) 200-3795
eric.brunner@uconn.edu

Program Director, Survey Research

Jennifer Dineen
(959) 200-3799
jennifer.dineen@uconn.edu

Student Representative

Caleb Pittman
GAPPS/ICMA
caleb.pittman@uconn.edu