Alumni Council

The Department of Public Policy Alumni Council helps current and future students connect with alumni to explore the wide variety of career opportunities available to UConn DPP graduates. Alumni Council members also connect and network with their former classmates.

History

In 2019, the UConn MPA Alumni Council combined with the Survey Research Alumni Council to form the DPP Alumni Council, supporting alumni of all DPP programs. The MPA Alumni Council was established more than a decade ago to support both the MPA program and its students. Over the years, Alumni Council members have served as mentors and role models for our aspiring administrators. Alumni are willing to talk with students, review resumes, and set-up job shadows in order to help students have the same great opportunities as the people who went before them.

UConn DPP graduates have taken jobs both in Connecticut and throughout the country in the public, private, and nonprofit sectors. Connecting our alumni with students – and with each other – is at the core of the Council’s mission.

2020-2021 Council Members

NC = Nominating Committee members | AC = Awards Committee members

President: Larisa Kottke '13 MPA
Vice President: Doug Shipman '16 MPA

Term Expires June 30, 2021

Alyssa Goduti '02 MPA
President and CEO, Adelbrook
(203) 605-7380
AGoduti@adelbrook.org

Jeff Hallin '05 MPA
Assistant Budget Director, City of Hartford
(860) 757-9552
jeffhallin@hotmail.com

Brian Luther '17 MPA
Municipal Services Specialist, The Metropolitan Area Planning Council
(617) 933-0790 (w) | (241) 241-7239 (c)
bluther@mapc.org

Ashley Plosky '07 MA, AC
2VP, Business Insurance (BI) Sales Analytics and Execution, The Travelers Companies, Inc.
(860) 490-4508
ashley.plosky@gmail.com

Scott Simoneau '94 MPA
Chief Analyst, Connecticut General Assembly
(860) 240-0300
Scott.Simoneau@cga.ct.gov

Julia Yakovich '08 MPA, AC
Director of Service Learning Initiative, University of Connecticut
(860) 486-4531
julia.yakovich@uconn.edu

Term Expires June 30, 2022

Melissa Appleby '13 MPA
Deputy Town Manager, Town of Simsbury
(860) 307-8227
melissa.ashley.jones@gmail.com

Chris Brechlin '18 MPP, AC
Senior Program & Data Analyst, Connecticut Housing Finance Authority
(203) 631-2840
christopherbrechlin@gmail.com

Candace Fitzpatrick '06 MPA, NC
Alumni Relations & Development Director, Department of Public Policy, University of Connecticut
(860) 559-9760
cvwfitz@gmail.com

Jayhon Ghassem-Zadeh '15 MPA
Senior Management & Strategy Consultant, The Lafayette Group, Washington D.C.
(203) 954-5866
jghassemzadeh@gmail.com

Rebecca Myshrall '20 MPA, NC
Employment Specialist, University of Connecticut
(860) 486-8014
Rebecca.Myshrall@uconn.edu

Doug Shipman '16 MPA, Vice President, AC
Executive Director, Windsor Historical Society
(860) 688-3813
dshipman@windsorhistoricalsociety.org

Term Expires June 30, 2023

Lauren Hunt '18 MPA
Development Program Coordinator, Yale School of Public Health
(203) 988-4459
laurenhunt77@gmail.com

Alissa Johnston '07 MPA
Performance Measurement Coordinator, Capital Workforce Partners
(860) 899-3472
alissabess@gmail.com

Larisa Kottke '13 MPA, President
Vice President for Finance & Operations, Leadership Greater Hartford
(617) 851-4037
larisavk@gmail.com

Jessica Legnos Kearney '12 MPA, AC
Second Vice President, Travelers Institute
(860) 277-0903 (w) | (860) 247-8934 (c)
jlkearne@travelers.com

Jennifer McDermott '13 MPA
Vice President, Senior Underwriter, Public Sector Finance, Webster Bank
(401) 228-2039
jmcdermott@websterbank.com

Ron Schack '93 MPA
Director, The Charter Oak Group, LLC
(860) 478-7847
rschack@charteroakgroup.com

Alternates

Hanna Nagy '18 MPA
Planning Analyst, Health Systems
Connecticut Office of Health Strategy
h_nagy@comcast.net

Department Representatives

Department Head

Mohamad Alkadry
(959) 200-3858
mohamad.alkadry@uconn.edu

Program Director, MPA/MPP

Eric Brunner
(959) 200-3795
eric.brunner@uconn.edu

Program Director, Survey Research

Jennifer Dineen
(959) 200-3799
jennifer.dineen@uconn.edu

Student Representative

Caleb Pittman
GAPPS/ICMA
caleb.pittman@uconn.edu