Alumni Council

The Department of Public Policy Alumni Council helps current and future students connect with alumni to explore the wide variety of career opportunities available to UConn DPP graduates. Alumni Council members also connect and network with their former classmates.

History

In 2019, the UConn MPA Alumni Council combined with the Survey Research Alumni Council to form the DPP Alumni Council, supporting alumni of all DPP programs. The MPA Alumni Council was established more than a decade ago to support both the MPA program and its students. Over the years, Alumni Council members have served as mentors and role models for our aspiring administrators. Alumni are willing to talk with students, review resumes, and set up job shadows in order to help students have the same great opportunities as the people who went before them.

UConn DPP graduates have taken jobs both in Connecticut and throughout the country in the public, private, and nonprofit sectors. Connecting our alumni with students – and with each other – is at the core of the Council’s mission.

2021-2022 Council Members

NC = Nominating Committee members | AC = Awards Committee members

President: Larisa Kottke '13 MPA
Vice President: Christopher Brechlin '18 MPP

Term Expires June 30, 2022

Melissa Appleby '13 MPA, NC
Deputy Town Manager
Town of Simsbury
melissa.ashley.jones@gmail.com

Christopher Brechlin '18 MPP, Vice President, AC
Director of Data and Digital Systems
Compass Youth Collaborative
christopherbrechlin@gmail.com

Candace Fitzpatrick '06 MPA, NC
Alumni Relations & Development Director
Department of Public Policy, University of Connecticut
cvwfitz@gmail.com

Charlie Grab '18 MPA
Director Business Operations & Mobility Services, Central Administration
Harvard University
charlie_grab@harvard.edu

Hanna Nagy '18 MPP
Planning Analyst, Health Systems
Connecticut Office of Health Strategy
hanna.e.nagy@gmail.com

Doug Shipman '16 MPA, AC
Executive Director
Windsor Historical Society
dshipman@windsorhistoricalsociety.org

Term Expires June 30, 2023

Lauren Hunt '18 MPA
Development Program Coordinator
Yale School of Public Health
laurenhunt77@gmail.com

Alissa Johnston '07 MPA
Performance Measurement Coordinator
Capital Workforce Partners
alissabess@gmail.com

Larisa Kottke '13 MPA, President
Vice President for Finance & Operations
Leadership Greater Hartford
larisavk@gmail.com

Jessica Legnos Kearney '12 MPA, AC
Second Vice President
Travelers Institute
jlkearne@travelers.com

Jennifer McDermott '13 MPA, NC
Vice President, Senior Underwriter, Public Sector Finance
Webster Bank
jmcdermott@websterbank.com

Ron Schack '93 MPA
Director
The Charter Oak Group, LLC
rschack@charteroakgroup.com

Term Expires June 30, 2024

Janice Castle '11 MPA
Director, Office of Community Engagement
City of Hartford
janice.castle80@gmail.com

Tara Downes '20 MPA
Assistant State Comptroller
Connecticut Office of the State Comptroller
tara.downes@uconn.edu

Parashar Patel '91 MPA
Senior Vice President, Government Affairs & Market Access
Viewray, Inc
pacoinconn@gmail.com

Tony Patelunas '19 MPP
Program Manager
Seven Bridges Genomics
anthony.patelunas@gmail.com

Ashley Plosky '07 MASR, AC
2VP, Business Insurance (BI) Sales Analytics and Execution
The Travelers Companies, Inc.
ashley.plosky@gmail.com

Matt Robinson '11 MPA
Senior Consultant
Systems Evolution, Inc.
mrobinson860@gmail.com

Alternates

Maureen Goulet '20 MPA, Alternate (2023)
Director of Purchasing
Town of Manchester
mgoulet@manchesterct.gov

Alternate (2024)

Morgan Spencer '12 MPA, Alternate (2025)
Compliance and Quality Control Officer
Mindful Urgent Care
m.hollenbeck.spencer@gmail.com

Department Representatives

Department Head

Mohamad Alkadry
(959) 200-3858
mohamad.alkadry@uconn.edu

Program Director:
MPA, MPP, and MASR Programs

Eric Brunner
(959) 200-3795
eric.brunner@uconn.edu

Student Representative

Paula Norato
GAPPS/ICMA
paula.norato@uconn.edu