Congratulations 2017 DPP Graduates!

Graduates prepare for ceremonyDr. Joshua Hyman speaks during 2017 graduation ceremonyMelissa Sienna, MPA 2017 graduate, speaks during 2017 graduation ceremonyGraduates and audience cheer after awarding of degreesGraduates, family and friends, faculty, staff and alumni mingle after ceremony.

On Friday, May 5, 2017, the Department of Public Policy proudly honored the accomplishments of our 2017 graduates with a ceremony and reception held at The Front Street Bistro and Spotlight Theatres in Hartford.  Degrees were bestowed on fifty-three graduates with thirty-four receiving a Master of Public Administration, nine receiving a Master of Public Policy (our newest degree) and ten receiving a Master of Arts in Survey Research.

The event also recognized a number of academic award recipients.  Two teams earned the Best Capstone Award in Causal Program Evaluation:  Group A (Maria Coman, Timothy Hanser and Thomas Mathews), and Group B (Nicholas Arace, Daniel Gregory and Su-Teng Kuan.  The Best Capstone Award in Applied Management Project was presented to the Northwest Community Center team (Richard Coore, Joel DiLoreto, Brian Luther, Sara Nagle, Carrie Norris, Melissa Sienna and Matthew Streeter).  The Mort Tenzer Award, given to meritorious students entering the MPA program, was presented to Austin Murray.  Melissa Sienna received the MPA Academic Excellence Award and Kristina Swindell received the GPSR Academic Excellence Award.  The Albert Ilg Award, given to a student with outstanding dedication and commitment in the area of local government administration, was presented to Brian Luther.  Rachna Kaul received the David B. Walker Award; this award honors a student in the MPA program who exemplifies tireless dedication to public service.  In addition, the twenty-six new inductees of the Pi Pi Alpha Honors Society were recognized for their academic achievement.

The event included inspiring remarks by Dr. Josh Hyman, Assistant Professor and the 2017 Department of Public Policy Distinguished Professor award recipient, and Melissa Sienna, recipient of the MPA Academic Excellence Award.  Participating in the presentation of the graduates were Candace Fitzpatrick, MPA 2006; Mark Robbins, Ph.D., Professor and Department Head; Deneen Hatmaker, Ph.D., MPA and MPP Director; and Jennifer Dineen, Ph.D., GPSR Director.

Congratulations to the 2017 Graduates and best wishes as you begin your new careers!